Fuels and lubricants (; Vol.41 No.1 01/2002;
Source: OAI


Abstract ACEA (Association des Constructeurs Européens d’Automobiles) represents an association of European vehicle designers. In 1991, it has taken over the role of the former CCMC (Comité des Constructeurs d’Automobiles du Marché Commun), inheriting their specifications in the process. The first ACEA motor oil specifications were issued towards the end of 1995, marked as ACEA European Oil Sequences 1996. The specifications are defining minimal motor oil quality levels for the service filling of gasoline engines, light-duty diesel engines (passenger vehicles), and heavy-duty diesel vehicles (commercial vehicles). The ACEA specifications require that all the results of oil performances engine testing obtained be in keeping with the European Engine Lubricants Quality Management System (EELQMS). After ACEA 1996, new editions of the ACEA motor oil specifications followed in 1998 (ACEA 1998), and 1999 (ACEA 1999). The latest ACEA 2002 motor oil specifications draft (draft 7.1a) has been published in September, 2001. From the viewpoint of motor oil manufacturers, the ACEA specifications have brought considerable changes into motor oil development by strictly defining test procedures for changing either base oil or viscosity index improver in the motor oil formulation.

  • Source
    [Show abstract] [Hide abstract]
    ABSTRACT: Abstract The quality of motor oils for passenger vehicles is defined by international specifications (ACEA-Association des Constructeurs Europeens d'Automobiles, API-American Petroleum Institute, ILSAC-International Lubricant Standardization & Approval Committee) and specifications by the reputable engine/vehicle manufacturers. One among the goals of introducing ACEA specifications back in 1996 was the joining together of all requirements by European vehicle manufacturers. Sadly, this goal has never been achieved, so that we are now witnessing the appearance of a growing number of specifications by individual vehicle manufacturers. The number of passenger vehicle motor oil specifications is increasing for two reasons. There are new vehicle manufacturers with motor oil specifications appearing, while those who have already had specifications are increasing their number. The situation is furtherly worsened by the fact that the requirements of individual vehicle manufacturers are mutually inconsistent. A direct consequence of the said situation is that motor oil manufacturers are forced to keep widening their assortment of motor oils, which renders oil development and production considerably more expensive. Especially difficult is the position of small-scale oil manufacturers who find it very difficult to meet the increased costs of testing a large number of motor oils.
    Preview · Article ·
  • Source
    [Show abstract] [Hide abstract]
    ABSTRACT: Abstract Towards the end of 2004, the new ACEA 2004 engine oil specifications for passenger cars have been adopted (ACEA - Association des Constructeurs Européens d'Automobiles). The most significant reasons for introducing new specifications were the Euro 4 exhaust gas emission requirements, causing the introduction of new after treatment devices. With regard to the previous ACEA 2002 specifications, the new ACEA 2004 specifications have introduced the following major changes: · the so far classes A and B for passenger cars were jointed together into a single A/B class · a new class C has been introduced for passenger car engines with after treatment devices · within class E, two categories were cancelled and two new ones introduced The newly established class A/B defines four engine oil categories for passenger car gasoline and diesel engines: A1/B1-04, A3/B3-04, A3/B4-04 and A5/B5-04. With regard to ACEA 2002, there have been no changes regarding oil quality requirements, only the merging of the two classes. The new class C has been introduced for passenger car gasoline and diesel engines with after treatment devices. Within the said class, three engine oil categories have been defined: C1-04, C2-04 and C3-04, with quality matching that of A5/B5 and A3/B4 categories. The most significant element of these categories is the limitation of the engine oil sulphated ash, phosphorus (P) and sulphur (S) content due to its noxious effect on the after treatment devices. In class E, categories E3 and E5 were cancelled, with new ones: E6-04 and E7-04 introduced. Category E6-04 defines oil quality for heavy duty diesel engines with after treatment devices, while it also limits the engine oil sulphated ash, phosphorus (P) and sulphur (S) content, while category E7-04 is in fact an improved former E5 category.
    Preview · Article · Jan 2005