Election of Regional Directors-at-Large and Members-at-Large

our vote is important! The election is now open for regional directors-atlarge for Regions 1-6 and 8 (the term is 1 January 2019 through 31 December 2020) and members-at-large (term 1 January 2019 through 31 December 2021) of the IEEE Signal Processing Society (SPS) Board of Governors (BoG). Ballots, which have been mailed to SPS members, include a diverse slate of candidates for both elections, which were vetted by the SPS Nominations and Appointments Committee, as well as a space for write-in candidates. This year's election offers SPS members the opportunity to cast their votes via the web at https://eballot4 .votenet.com/IEEE for up to one regional director-at-large for your corresponding Region, Regions 1-6 (United States) and Region 8 (Europe, Africa, and Middle East), and three member-at-large candidates. Ballots must be received at the IEEE no later than 1 October 2018 to be counted. Members must meet the eligibility requirements at the time the ballot data are generated to be eligible to vote. To be eligible to vote in this year's Society election, you had to have been an active SPS member or affiliate (excluding student member) prior to 1 August 2018. This is the date when the list of eligible Society voting members was compiled. The candidates for regional director-at-large are:

Digital Object Identifier 10.1109/MSP.2018.2861478

- Regions 1–6
 - Iole Moccagatta
 - Bhuvana Ramabhadran
- Region 8
 - Cédric Richard
 - Raed Shubair.

The candidates for member-at-large are

Region 8

- Magdy A. Bayoumi
- Paulo S.R. Diniz
- Eric Fosler-Lussier
- Hamid Krim
- Douglas O'Shaughnessy

The candidates for regional director-at-large

Regions 1-6



Iole Moccagatta



Bhuvana Ramabhadran

Cédric Richard



Raed Shubair

The candidates for member-at-large



Magdy A. Bayoumi

Douglas O'Shaughnessy



Paulo S.R. Diniz





Ana Isabel Pérez-Neira



Eric Fosler-Lussier



Wan-Chi Siu



Hamid Krim



Zhi (Gerry) Tian

- Ana Isabel Pérez-Neira
- Wan-Chi Siu
- Zhi (Gerry) Tian.

The BoG is the governing body that oversees the activities of the SPS. The SPS BoG has the responsibility of establishing and implementing policy and receiving reports from its standing boards and committees and comprises 21 Society members: six officers of the Society who are elected by the BoG, nine members-at-large elected by the voting members of the Society, four

regional directors-at-large elected locally by Society voting members of the corresponding region, as well as the Awards Board chair. The six officers are the president, president-elect, the vice president-conferences, vice president-membership, vice president-publications, and vice president-technical directions. The executive director of the Society shall serve ex-officio, without vote.

Regional directors-at-large are SPS members who are elected locally by

Society voting members of the corresponding Region via the annual election to serve on the Society's BoG as nonvoting members and voting members of the Society's Membership Board.

Members-at-large represent the member viewpoint in the Board decision making. They typically review, discuss, and act upon a wide range of items affecting the actions, activities, and health of the Society. More information on the IEEE SPS can be found at http://www.signal processingsociety.org/.

New Society Officer Elected and Editors-in-Chief Named for 2019

he Board of Governors of the IEEE Signal Processing Society (SPS) elected one new officer who will start her term on 1 January 2019. In addition, three volunteers have been named as editors-in-chief of IEEE SPS publications. The term for these editors-in-chief will run from 1 January 2019 through 31 December 2021.

New Society officer elected



Tülay Adalı will serve as the 2019– 2021 vice presidenttechnical directions. She is a Fellow of the IEEE and is with the University of

Maryland, Baltimore County. She succeeds Walter Kellermann, who has held this position since January 2016.

Digital Object Identifier 10.1109/MSP.2018.2853818 Date of publication: 28 August 2018

Incoming editors-in-chief



Lina Karam has been named editor-in-chief of *IEEE Journal of Selected Topics in Signal Processing*. She is a Fellow of the IEEE and is with Ari-

zona State University. She is succeeding Shrikanth (Shri) S. Narayanan, University of Southern California, who has been the editor-in-chief since 2016.



Antonio Ortega is the new editor-in-chief of *IEEE Transactions on Signal and Information Processing over Networks*. He is a Fellow of the

IEEE and is with the University of

Southern California. He is succeeding Petar Djurić, State University of New York, who has been editor-in-chief since 2015.



Dilek Hakkani-Tur has taken on the role of editor-in-chief of IEEE Transactions on Audio, Speech, and Language Processing. She is a Fel-

low of the IEEE and is with the Amazon Alexa artificial intelligence team. She is succeeding Haizhou Li, National University of Singapore, who has held the position since 2015.

SP