Hylke Dijkstra's Lab

Featured projects (1)

This five-year project funded by the European Research Council (ERC) addresses the question why do international organisations (IOs) decline or die? Many IOs are currently under significant pressure resulting in the loss of competences, resources and even member states. The ultimate way for states to show their discontent is to disband IOs: no less than a third of the IOs, created between 1905 and 2005, has formally ceased to exist. While academics have analysed how IOs are designed and develop, we know virtually nothing about decline and death.

Featured research (1)

The liberal international order is being challenged and international organizations (IOs) are a main target of contestation. COVID-19 seems to exacerbate the situation with many states pursuing domestic strategies at the expense of multilateral cooperation. At the same time, IOs have traditionally benefited from cross-border crises. This article analyzes the policy responses of IOs to the exogenous COVID-19 shock by asking why some IOs use this crisis as an opportunity to expand their scope and policy instruments? It provides a cross-sectional analysis using original data on the responses of 75 IOs to COVID-19 during the first wave between March and June 2020. It finds that the bureaucratic capacity of IOs is significant when it comes to using the crisis as an opportunity. It also finds some evidence that the number of COVID-19 cases among the member states affects policy responses and that general purpose IOs have benefited more.

Lab head

Hylke Dijkstra
  • Department of Political Science
About Hylke Dijkstra
  • Dr Hylke Dijkstra is an Associate Professor and the Director of the Research Programme "Politics and Culture in Europe (PCE)" at Maastricht University, The Netherlands. He is also the Principal Investigator of a prestigious ERC research project on the decline and death of international organizations. He is furthermore the Editor-in-Chief of the journal Contemporary Security Policy.

Members (3)

Maria Debre
  • Universit√§t Potsdam
Leonard Schuette
  • Maastricht University
Giuseppe Zaccaria
  • Maastricht University