Review of Derivatives Research

Publisher: Springer Verlag

Journal description

The proliferation of derivative assets during the past two decades is unprecedented. With this growth in derivatives comes the need for financial institutions institutional investors and corporations to use sophisticated quantitative techniques to take full advantage of the spectrum of these new financial instruments. Academic research has significantly contributed to our understanding of derivative assets and markets. The growth of derivative asset markets has been accompanied by a commensurate growth in the volume of scientific research. The rapid growth of derivatives research combined with the current absence of a rigorous research journal catering to the area of derivatives and the long lead-times in the existing academic journals underlines the need for Review of Derivatives Research which provides an international forum for researchers involved in the general areas of derivative assets. The Review publishes high quality articles dealing with the pricing and hedging of derivative assets on any underlying asset (commodity interest rate currency equity real estate traded or non-traded etc.). Specific topics include but are not limited to: econometric analyses of derivative markets (efficiency anomalies performance etc.) analysis of swap markets market microstructure and volatility issues regulatory and taxation issues credit risk new areas of applications such as corporate finance (capital budgeting debt innovations) international trade (tariffs and quotas) banking and insurance (embedded options asset-liability management) risk-sharing issues and the design of optimal derivative securities risk management management and control valuation and analysis of the options embedded in capital projects valuation and hedging of exotic options new areas for further development (i.e. natural resources environmental economics. The Review has a double-blind refereeing process. In contrast to the delays in the decision making and publication processes of many current journals the Review will provide authors with an initial decision within nine weeks of receipt of the manuscript and a goal of publication within six months after acceptance. Finally a section of the journal is available for rapid publication on 'hot' issues in the market small technical pieces and timely essays related to pending legislation and policy.

Current impact factor: 0.09

Impact Factor Rankings

Additional details

5-year impact 0.00
Cited half-life 9.90
Immediacy index 0.00
Eigenfactor 0.00
Article influence 0.00
Website Review of Derivatives Research website
Other titles Review of derivatives research (Online)
ISSN 1380-6645
OCLC 41977963
Material type Document, Periodical, Internet resource
Document type Internet Resource, Computer File, Journal / Magazine / Newspaper

Publisher details

Springer Verlag

  • Pre-print
    • Author can archive a pre-print version
  • Post-print
    • Author can archive a post-print version
  • Conditions
    • Author's pre-print on pre-print servers such as arXiv.org
    • Author's post-print on author's personal website immediately
    • Author's post-print on any open access repository after 12 months after publication
    • Publisher's version/PDF cannot be used
    • Published source must be acknowledged
    • Must link to publisher version
    • Set phrase to accompany link to published version (see policy)
    • Articles in some journals can be made Open Access on payment of additional charge
  • Classification
    green

Publications in this journal

  • [Show abstract] [Hide abstract]
    ABSTRACT: In this paper, we develop a closed-form option pricing model with the stock sentiment and option sentiment. First, the model shows that the price of call option is amplified by bullish stock sentiment, and is reduced by stock bearish sentiment, and the price of put option is in the opposite situation. Second, the price of call option is more sensitive to bullish stock sentiment; the price of put option is more sensitive to bearish stock sentiment. Third, the price of call option increases substantially with respect to the stock sentiment and the option sentiment. The price of put option decreases substantially with respect to the stock sentiment, increases substantially with respect to the option sentiment. Fourth, our models also reveal that the option volatility smile is steeper (flatter) when the stock sentiment becomes more bearish (bullish). Finally, stock sentiment and option sentiment lead to the option price deviating from the rational price. The model could offer a partial explanation of some option anomalies: option price bubbles and option volatility smile.
    No preview · Article · Jan 2016 · Review of Derivatives Research
  • [Show abstract] [Hide abstract]
    ABSTRACT: In this study, we investigate the effects of stock short-sale constraints on options trading by exploiting two US Securities and Exchange Commission rule changes under Regulation SHO: Rule 203 (locate and close-out requirements) and Rule 202T (temporary removal of short-sale price tests). We find that stock short selling activities decrease (increase) significantly after Rule 203 (Rule 202T) implementation, supporting the validity of Rule 203 (Rule 202T) as an exogenous increase (decrease) in short-sale constraints. Options volume increases significantly after Rule 203 went into effect and the result is more pronounced among firms with lower levels of institutional ownership and smaller options bid-ask spreads. Therefore, the evidence from Rule 203 suggests that investors may use options as substitutes for stock short sales when short selling is less feasible or more costly due to the locate and delivery requirements. In contrast, we find no significant change in the options trading volume of pilot stocks during the pilot program of Rule 202T. Overall, our results indicate that the impact of short-sale constraints on options trading varies with the types of constraints affected.
    No preview · Article · Nov 2015 · Review of Derivatives Research
  • [Show abstract] [Hide abstract]
    ABSTRACT: We study the merits of capped retirement products with guarantee for investors who have the flexibility to dynamically adjust their investment strategy. All contracts under consideration are fairly priced such that the net profit of the provider is zero. Without the rider, an expected utility maximizing CRRA investor does not want an investment cap. Here, she commits herself to a strategy a priori. With the flexibility rider, the optimization problem changes and the optimal strategy is a response to an exogenously set price. A fair pricing then anticipates the optimal response of the investor. We show that the maximum expected utility of the investor can, for anticipated fairly priced products, be obtained for a finite cap. Thus, a capped product design can give a Pareto improvement to the otherwise uncapped contract version.
    No preview · Article · Nov 2015 · Review of Derivatives Research
  • [Show abstract] [Hide abstract]
    ABSTRACT: We show that commonality in liquidity is priced in both the cross-section and time-series of credit default swap (CDS) premia. Protection buyers earn a statistically significant and economically important discount for bearing the risk of individual CDS illiquidity co-moving with CDS market illiquidity. The pricing of commonality in CDS liquidity is different for calm and crisis periods as we find liquidity risk to be a priced factor in CDS spreads only during the recent financial crisis. Additionally, we find evidence that liquidity seems to be more important for the pricing of CDS than fundamentals from structural models of default risk.
    No preview · Article · Oct 2015 · Review of Derivatives Research
  • [Show abstract] [Hide abstract]
    ABSTRACT: This study develops a structural pricing model based on the Black 76 formula for the evaluation of the credit value adjustment (CVA) of OTC traded caps and floors, which is mandated as an integral part of Basel III. The proposed structural pricing model improves the existing structural pricing models for vulnerable European options by allowing payments to be made after the exercise of the options. Five crucial determinants of caps’ and floors’ CVAs are identified by the proposed structural model, they are: the cap’s/floor’s tenor, the writer’s total asset value, the correlation between the cap’s/floor’s underlying and the writer’s total asset value, the volatility of the writer’s total asset value, and the writer’s aggregate liabilities. Numerical examples are given to demonstrate the effects of the crucial parameters. Compared to the market practice of CVA calculation based on reduced-form models, the five crucial parameters are the unique features of the proposed structural model.
    No preview · Article · Jul 2015 · Review of Derivatives Research
  • [Show abstract] [Hide abstract]
    ABSTRACT: We develop a framework for pricing multivariate European-style contingent claims in a discrete-time economy based on a multivariate transformed-gamma distribution. In our model, each transformed-gamma distributed underlying asset depends on two terms: a idiosyncratic term and a systematic term, where the latter is the same for all underlying assets and has a direct impact on their correlation structure. Given our distributional assumptions and the existence of a representative agent with a standard utility function, we apply equilibrium arguments and provide sufficient conditions for obtaining preference-free contingent claim pricing equations. We illustrate the applicability of our framework by providing examples of preference-free contingent claim pricing models. Multivariate pricing models are of particular interest when payoffs depend on two or more underlying assets, such as crack and crush spread options, options to exchange one asset for another, and options with a stochastic strike price in general.
    No preview · Article · Jun 2015 · Review of Derivatives Research
  • [Show abstract] [Hide abstract]
    ABSTRACT: Prior research argues that pessimistic traders can use options as substitutes for short sales particularly when stocks are expensive to short. Motivated by this contention, we examine the relation between put-call ratios, short-selling activity, and constraints to short selling. Results show that (1) put-call ratios are inversely related, instead of directly related, to proxies for short-sale constraints and (2) the significant negative relation between current put-call ratios and future returns (Pan and Poteshman in Rev Financ Stud 19:871–908, 2006) is orthogonal to proxies for short-sale constraints. These results indicate that short-sale constraints do not influence bearish option activity. While prior studies show that short sellers are generally contrarian in contemporaneous and past returns, we find that put-call ratios follow periods of negative returns. However, any observed return predictability contained in put-call ratios is driven by ratios that follow periods of positive returns.
    No preview · Article · Apr 2015 · Review of Derivatives Research
  • [Show abstract] [Hide abstract]
    ABSTRACT: Correlated default factors and systemic risk are clearly priced in credit portfolio securities such as CDOs or index CDSs. In this paper we study an extensive CDX data set for evidence of whether correlated default factors are also present in the underlying CDS market. We develop a cash-flow-based top-down approach for modeling CDSs from which we can derive the following major contributions: (1) Correlated default factors did not matter for CDS prices prior to the financial crisis in 2008. During and after the crisis, however, their importance increased strongly. (2) We observe that correlated default factors primarily impact on the CDS prices of firms with an overall low CDS level. (3) Idiosyncratic risk factors for each single CDS play a major (minor) role when the CDS premia are high (low).
    No preview · Article · Feb 2015 · Review of Derivatives Research
  • [Show abstract] [Hide abstract]
    ABSTRACT: We consider the valuation of collateralized derivative contracts such as interest rate swaps or forward FX contracts. We allow for posting securities or cash in different currencies. In the latter case, we focus on using overnight index rates on the interbank market. Using time varying haircuts, we provide an intuitive way to derive the basic discounting results, keeping in line with the most standard theoretical and market views. In a number of cases associated with margining with major central counterparties, pricing rules for collateralized trades remain linear, thus the use of (multiple) discount curves. We also show how to deal with partial collateralization, involving haircuts, asymmetric CSA, counterparty risk and funding costs. We therefore intend to provide a unified view. Mathematical or legal details are not dealt with and we privilege financial insights and easy to grasp concepts and tools.
    No preview · Article · Oct 2014 · Review of Derivatives Research
  • [Show abstract] [Hide abstract]
    ABSTRACT: The ongoing growth in use of financial instruments together with the accompanying disclosing requirements debate has motivated this study to examine the role of internal corporate governance and accounting rule changes in firms’ derivatives using derisions. The empirical results reveal that firms with better internal corporate governance have higher demand on hedging-purpose derivatives usage in Taiwan. Moreover, the magnitude of hedging-purpose derivatives usage significantly decreases following the enforcement of SFAS No. 34. It is also found that firms with better internal corporate governance are moderate negatively associated with the non-hedging-purpose derivatives usage and the effect of SFAS No. 34 is statistically insignificant in this testing. This study implements several diagnostic checks and demonstrates the results are robust to various specifications.
    No preview · Article · Oct 2014 · Review of Derivatives Research
  • [Show abstract] [Hide abstract]
    ABSTRACT: This paper will demonstrate how European and American option prices can be computed under the jump-diffusion model using the radial basis function (RBF) interpolation scheme. The RBF interpolation scheme is demonstrated by solving an option pricing formula, a one-dimensional partial integro-differential equation (PIDE). We select the cubic spline radial basis function and adopt a simple numerical algorithm (Briani et al. in Calcolo 44:33–57, 2007) to establish a finite computational range for the improper integral of the PIDE. This algorithm reduces the truncation error of approximating the improper integral. As a result, we are able to achieve a higher approximation accuracy of the integral with the application of any quadrature. Moreover, we a numerical technique termed cubic spline factorisation (Bos and Salkauskas in J Approx Theory 51:81–88, 1987) to solve the inversion of an ill-conditioned RBF interpolant, which is a well-known research problem in the RBF field. Finally, our numerical experiments show that in the European case, our RBF-interpolation solution is second-order accurate for spatial variables, while in the American case, it is second-order accurate for spatial variables and first-order accurate for time variables.
    No preview · Article · Jul 2014 · Review of Derivatives Research
  • [Show abstract] [Hide abstract]
    ABSTRACT: Can the credit spreads of one and the same issuer differ in two different currencies? If so, can an investor exploit this situation? To answer these questions and to contribute to the existing literature, we extend the Jarrow/Turnbull-model with a second currency, price a quanto option, and test the theoretical results with an extensive empirical study. A major result of the study was the key insight that the credit spreads, and therefore the cumulated implied default probabilities of nearly all bonds denominated in USD in comparison to EUR denominated bonds, are significantly higher for all terms, and are mostly driven by the correlation between default risk and exchange rate.
    No preview · Article · Jul 2014 · Review of Derivatives Research
  • [Show abstract] [Hide abstract]
    ABSTRACT: Access to information is necessary for market transparency. However, contrary to trading volume and open interest, information related to day trading activities is rarely available. By incorporating unexplored day trading volume in the literature, this paper demonstrates that both the expected open interest and expected day trading volume are consistently and positively correlated with returns, but that one-lagged day trading volume is negatively correlated with futures returns. Meanwhile, both expected and unexpected day trading volume are negatively correlated with volatility, suggesting that arbitrage activities related to unexpected day trading volume may accelerate the movement of futures prices to a new equilibrium. Moreover, open interest provides liquidity but increases volatility. Finally, we strongly suggest that day trading transaction information be released by futures exchanges to achieve greater transparency.
    No preview · Article · Jul 2014 · Review of Derivatives Research
  • [Show abstract] [Hide abstract]
    ABSTRACT: It is well known that market prices of risk play an important role in commodity derivative valuation. There is an extensive literature showing that market prices of risk vary through time. Based on these results, a factor model, with two long- and short-term factors, with market prices of risk depending on these underlying asset factors is proposed and estimated, using data from crude oil, heating oil, unleaded gasoline and natural gas futures prices traded at NYMEX. The valuation results obtained with an extensive sample of commodity American options traded at NYMEX show that this model with time-varying market prices of risk outperforms standard models with constant market prices of risk.
    No preview · Article · Apr 2014 · Review of Derivatives Research
  • [Show abstract] [Hide abstract]
    ABSTRACT: We consider the valuation of options with stressed-beta in a reduced form model. Under this two-state beta model, we provide the analytic pricing formulae for the European options and American options as the integral forms. Specifically, we provide the integral representation of the early exercise premium of an American put option. We use the quadrature method to evaluate the integral forms and we measure the performance of our pricing framework comparing the benchmarks set by the trinomial tree method. It turns out that our pricing framework with the quadrature methods are computationally efficient and accurate. We also calibrate the market data successfully.
    No preview · Article · Apr 2014 · Review of Derivatives Research
  • [Show abstract] [Hide abstract]
    ABSTRACT: The game option, which is also known as Israel option, is an American option with callable features. The option holder can exercise the option at any time up to maturity. This article studies the pricing behaviors of the path-dependent game option where the payoff of the option depends on the maximum or minimum asset price over the life of the option (i.e., the game option with the lookback feature). We obtain the explicit pricing formula for the perpetual case and provide the integral expression of pricing formula under the finite horizon case. In addition, we derive optimal exercise strategies and continuation regions of options in both floating and fixed strike cases.
    No preview · Article · Apr 2014 · Review of Derivatives Research