Congrats to the 2013 Nobel Prize winners!

We really enjoyed the Nobel Prize Week here at ResearchGate - even more so when we found out that we’ve got a few laureates among our members!

nobel-2013-forblogCongratulations go out to: 

  • James RothmanRandy Schekman and Thomas Südhof for winning the Nobel Prize in Physiology for their discoveries around the transport logistics of molecules in and between cells - the so-called “vesicle traffic.”

  • Peter Higgs and Francoise Englert for winning the Nobel Prize in Physics for “something small that makes all the difference” – the theory of the Higgs particle.

  • Martin KarplusMichael Levitt and Arieh Warshel for inventing a computer program that simulates complex chemical reactions as they happen inside molecules. Their discovery is considered the “secret handshake” between classical and quantum mechanics in modeling chemical reactions – or simply put, the modern day test tube.

Click on the links to their profiles to find out more about the laureates and their research.

We’re already looking forward to next year. Who knows, maybe you’ll get your own call from Sweden before then?

Our fingers are crossed for you!