Article

ECT efficacy and treatment course: A systematic review and meta-analysis of twice vs thrice weekly schedules

Queensland Centre for Mental Health Research, School of Population Health, University of Queensland, Australia.
Journal of Affective Disorders (Impact Factor: 3.71). 04/2011; 138(1-2):1-8. DOI: 10.1016/j.jad.2011.03.039
Source: PubMed

ABSTRACT Electroconvulsive therapy (ECT) guidelines, across various regulatory bodies, lack consensus as to the optimal frequency of treatment for individual patients. Some authors postulate that twice weekly ECT may have a similar efficacy to thrice weekly, and may have a lower risk of adverse cognitive outcomes. We did a systematic review and a meta-analysis to assess the strength of associations between ECT frequency and depression scores, duration of treatment, number of ECTs, and remission rates.
We searched on Medline, EMBASE, CINAHL and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (to December 2009), and searched reports to identify comparative studies of frequency of ECT. We did both random-effects (RE) and quality effect (QE) meta-analyses to determine the risk of various outcomes associated with lesser frequency as compared to the thrice weekly frequency.
We analysed 8 datasets (7 articles), including 214 subjects. Twice-weekly frequency of ECT was associated with a similar change in depression score (QE model SMD -0.11 [-0.55-0.33] and RE model SMD -0.17 [-0.77-0.43]) as compared to thrice weekly ECT. The number of real ECT's trended towards fewer in the twice weekly group. There was a statistically significant longer duration of treatment with a twice weekly protocol (QE model 6.48 days [4.99-7.97] and RE model 4.78 days [0.74-8.82]). There was a statistically significant greater efficacy for thrice weekly ECT compared to once weekly ECT (QE model SMD 1.25 [-0.62-1.9] and RE model SMD 1.31 [0.6-2.02]).
Twice weekly ECT is associated with similar efficacy to thrice weekly ECT, may require fewer treatments and may be associated with longer treatment duration when compared to thrice weekly. These epidemiological observations support the routine use of twice weekly ECT in acute courses, though choice of frequency should take into account individual patient factors. These observations have implications for resource utilisation e.g. costs of duration of admission vs cost of provision of ECT, as well as issues of access to inpatient beds and anaesthetist time.

1 Follower
 · 
107 Views
  • Source
    Electroconvulsive Therapy: Clinical Uses, Efficacy and Long-Term Health Effects, Edited by Kathleen Braddock, 08/2014: chapter An Evidence-Informed Model for the Modern Practice of Electroconvulsive Therapy; NOVA scientific publisher., ISBN: 978-1-63463-038-2
  • [Show abstract] [Hide abstract]
    ABSTRACT: Knowledge about cognitive side-effects induced by electroconvulsive therapy (ECT) in depressed elderly patients is sparse. In this study we investigated changes in the cognitive functioning of non-demented elderly depressed patients receiving ECT (n = 62) compared with healthy elderly people (n = 17). Neuropsychological tests were administered at the start of treatment and again within 1 week after treatment. We computed reliable change indices (RCIs) using simple regression methods. RCIs are statistical methods for analyzing change in individuals that have not yet been used in studies of the acute cognitive side-effects of ECT. At the group level, only letter fluency performance was found to be significantly reduced in the ECT group compared with the controls, whereas both groups demonstrated stable or improved performance on all other measures. At the individual level, however, 11% of patients showed retrograde amnesia for public facts post-ECT and 40% of the patients showed a significant decline in neuropsychological functioning. Decline on a measure of delayed verbal anterograde memory was most common. Our findings indicate that there are mild neurocognitive impairments in the acute phase for a substantial minority of elderly patients receiving ECT. Analysis of reliable change facilitated the illumination of cognitive side-effects in our sample.
    The Clinical Neuropsychologist 09/2014; 28(7):1-20. DOI:10.1080/13854046.2014.958536 · 1.58 Impact Factor
  • Source
    [Show abstract] [Hide abstract]
    ABSTRACT: Depression is the leading cause of disability worldwide, affecting approximately 350 million people. Evidence indicates that only 60-70% of persons with major depressive disorder who tolerate antidepressants respond to first-line drug treatment; the remainder become treatment resistant. Electroconvulsive therapy (ECT) is considered an effective therapy in persons with treatment-resistant depression. The use of ECT is controversial due to concerns about temporary cognitive impairment in the acute post-treatment period. We will conduct a meta-analysis to examine the effects of ECT on cognition in persons with depression. This systematic review and meta-analysis has been registered with PROSPERO (registration number: CRD42014009100). We developed our methods following the Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analysis (PRISMA) statement. We are searching MEDLINE, PsychINFO, EMBASE, CINAHL and Cochrane from the date of database inception to the end of October 2014. We are also searching the reference lists of published reviews and evidence reports for additional citations. Comparative studies (randomised controlled trials, cohort and case-control) published in English will be included in the meta-analysis. Three clinical neuropsychologists will group the cognitive tests in each included article into a set of mutually exclusive cognitive subdomains. The risk of bias of randomised controlled trials will be assessed using the Jadad scale. We will supplement the Jadad scale with additional questions based on the Cochrane risk of bias tool. The risk of bias of cohort and case-control studies will be assessed using the Newcastle-Ottawa Scale. We will employ the Grading of Recommendations Assessment, Development, and Evaluation (GRADE) to assess the strength of evidence. Separate meta-analyses will be conducted for each ECT treatment modality and cognitive subdomain using Comprehensive Meta-Analysis V.2.0. Published by the BMJ Publishing Group Limited. For permission to use (where not already granted under a licence) please go to http://group.bmj.com/group/rights-licensing/permissions.
    BMJ Open 03/2015; 5(3):e006966. DOI:10.1136/bmjopen-2014-006966 · 2.06 Impact Factor

Full-text

Download
22 Downloads
Available from
Oct 29, 2014