Conference Paper

A 1 GHz OTA-based low-pass filter with a high-speed automatic tuning scheme

Nat. Chiao Tung Univ., Hsinchu
DOI: 10.1109/ASSCC.2007.4425717 Conference: Solid-State Circuits Conference, 2007. ASSCC '07. IEEE Asian
Source: IEEE Xplore

ABSTRACT A continuous-time 4th-order equiripple linear phase G m -C filter with an automatic tuning circuit is presented. A high speed OTA based on the inverter structure is realized. The combined CMFF and CMFB circuit ensures the input and output common-mode stability. The gain performance could be maintained by combining a negative resistor at the output nodes. Transconductance tuning can be achieved by adjusting the bulk voltage by using the Deep-NWELL technology. Through the use of the OTA as a building block with a modified automatic tuning scheme, the filter -3 dB cutoff frequency is 1 GHz with the group delay less than 4% variation up to 1.5 fc frequency. The -43 dB of IM3 at filter cutoff frequency is obtained with -4 dbm two tone signals. Implemented in 0.18-mum CMOS process, the chip occupies 1mm2 and consumes 175 mW at a 1.5-V supply voltage.

1 Bookmark
  • [Show abstract] [Hide abstract]
    ABSTRACT: A low-power analog baseband section suitable for 60-GHz receivers using orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) with 16 quadrature amplitude modulation (16-QAM) modulation is presented in this paper. Power efficiency is achieved by combining active-RC with source-follower-based topologies in order to synthesize a custom sixth-order transfer function. The complete chain consists of the cascade of a first-order transimpedance amplifier with finely programmable gain, a fourth-order source-follower-based filter, and a coarse gain first-order programmable gain amplifier. The prototype is implemented in 90-nm CMOS. It achieves a 1-GHz cutoff frequency and programmable gain from 0 to 20 dB with 1-dB step control, drawing 9.5 mA (0–9 dB gain range) or 10.8 mA (10–20 dB gain range) from a 1-V supply. An 8.2-dBm third-order input intercept point and a $-$145-dBm/Hz input-referred noise power density are measured at 0- and 20-dB gain, respectively. The entire circuit occupies an area of $hbox{400 }times hbox{ 390} muhbox{m}^{2}$.
    IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques 08/2014; 62(8):1724-1735. · 2.94 Impact Factor
  • [Show abstract] [Hide abstract]
    ABSTRACT: A sixth-order Butterworth bandpass filter using a leap-frog Gm-C structure for wireless applications is proposed. The filter is targeted for an intermediate frequency (IF) receiver, which has a center frequency of 100 MHz and a passband of 20 MHz. Fully differential Nauta's transconductors are used in this design, allowing the circuit to work over a large frequency range. The single-to-differential converter before the filter is designed in order to provide differential output for filter usage. The proposed bandpass filter including converter has been fabricated in TSMC 0.35 urn CMOS process with 3.3 V supply voltage. Measured results show that the proposed Gm-C bandpass filter achieves a center frequency of 94.45 MHz and a passband of 25 MHz. The chip area including pads is only 0.475 mm2 and the power dissipation is 42.25 mW.
    Wireless Communications & Signal Processing (WCSP), 2012 International Conference on; 01/2012
  • [Show abstract] [Hide abstract]
    ABSTRACT: This paper presents a novel 1-V 2.5-MHz continuous-time filter for 3G wireless application, fabricated using a standard 55-nm CMOS process. The four-pole filter topology includes a single pole-tracking Operational Amplifier (OPAMP) structure to achieve low in-band noise levels, high out-of-band linearity, and reduced power consumption. An automatic frequency tuning circuit is developed to compensate for process and environmental variations. The proposed filter achieves in-band noise of 18- $mu{rm V}~{rm rms}$ and out-of-band IIP3 of 33 dBm within 365 $mu{rm W}$ . The out-of-band spurious-free dynamic range is measured at 76.7 dB, resulting in a figure-of-merit of $1.24times 10^{-4}~{rm fJ}$ .
    IEEE Transactions on Very Large Scale Integration (VLSI) Systems 05/2014; 22(5):1164-1169. · 1.14 Impact Factor