Message from the Chairs

Multimedia and Telecommunications Track

Jens B. Schmitt and Paul Müller *Computer Science Department* University of Kaiserslautern 67653 Kaiserslautern, Germany *{jschmitt, pmueller}@informatik.uni-kl.de*

Distributed multimedia systems emerge in many facets in our daily lives. Especially, since the tremendous success of the Internet there is virtually no one who has not been exposed to some distributed multimedia service in one way or the other, this might be as advanced as having a multi-party videoconference over the Internet or just having a look at some neat pictures. Despite the fact that distributed multimedia systems have been investigated for over a decade now and there are great achievements in terms of media coding, media transport and distribution, multimedia content management, etc., there are still many unresolved and evolving new research issues. In particular, the telecommunication aspects of typical distributed multimedia systems still provide a huge ground for open research questions as for example which quality of service has to be provided by all system components taking part in the service creation and delivery. While there have been very successful lab prototypes of the most diverse and advanced kinds of distributed multimedia systems it has to be conceded that when thinking in large numbers and trying to scale distributed multimedia systems to a global level there is many unresolved issues in transport and distribution subsystems among others. Besides these issues new research topics arise. For example, we experience the growing usage of Web Services concepts in distributed multimedia systems. This enables the use of network services without

having knowledge of their implementation. This high level of abstraction enables a high degree of flexibility and simplifies the usage of services.

The "Multimedia and Telecommunications Track" of the 30th EUROMICRO conference deals with those challenges surrounding distributed multimedia systems and covers some of the most interesting and pressing research questions in this arena.

The track is organized into five sessions where papers are ordered as much as possible into thematic groups although it must be said that many relations exist between papers from different sessions due to the systemic nature of the whole track theme. There is one session on Telephony, the classical service for IP telecommunications but now provided over Internet technology. The session offers on the one hand insight into the latest developments in the control plane of advanced IP telephony applications, and on the other hand new Web Services based approaches for these applications. Another session fairly closely connected to the IP telephony session is on Service-Oriented Architectures. This session deals with issues like multi-homing and IPSec-protected Web services provision as well as the dynamic instantiaton of application-oriented services. In the Streaming session advanced issues in continuous media transport like e.g. peer-to-peer streaming are treated. The closely related session on Content Distribution deals with web prefetching techniques and a very interesting distributed multimedia system for interactive sports content broadcasting. Last but not least the session on Quality of Service (QoS) deals with viable alternatives of network support for multimedia-typical application requirements.

We would like to thank all those who made this year's Multimedia and Telecommunications Track possible. First of all thanks to all the authors who submitted a paper to this track. We would also like to thank the members of the programme committee for their efforts in thoroughly reviewing the submitted papers. Further, we would like to thank the organisers of the 30th EUROMICRO conference who made this year's event possible. In particular, we are grateful to the general programme chair Ralf Steinmetz and his deputy Andreas Mauthe, and the local organising chair Christophe Wolinski

MTT Programme Committee

Fernando Boavida, University of Coimbra, Portugal Torsten Braun, University of Berne, Switzerland Michel Diaz, LAAS-CNRS, France Wolfgang Effelsberg, Mannheim University, Germany Stefan Fischer, University of Braunschweig, Germany Nicolas Georganas, University of Ottawa, Canada Carsten Griwodz, University of Oslo, Norway Gerhard Haßlinger, T-Systems, Germany David Hutchison, Lancaster University, UK Martin Karsten, University of Waterloo, Canada David Larrabeiti, University Carlos III, Madrid, Spain Laurent Mathy, Lancaster University, UK Andreas Mauthe, Darmstadt University of Technology, Germany Martin Mauve, University of Düsseldorf, Germany Andreas Meissner, Fraunhofer IPSI, Darmstadt, Germany Harald Müller, Siemens, Germany Thomas Plagemann, University of Oslo, Norway Peter Puschner, Vienna University of Technology, Austria Utz Roedig, University College Cork, Ireland Luca Simoncini, University of Pisa, Italy Richard Snow, University of Newcastle, UK Giorgio Ventre, University of Federico II, Naples, Italy Horst Wedde, University of Dortmund, Germany Michael Zink, Darmstadt University of Technology, Germany